I saw You

by Dieu

Dear Lisa,

I thought I saw you yesterday – you didn’t look like yourself.

I miss you. Call me.

-John.

***************************************************

John-

Mother always told me to never talk to strangers, and I’ve come to realize she was right. You’ve become a stranger to me.

-L

***************************************************

Lisa,

I miss you. I want the road I travel to be a shortcut to wherever that leads me to you. PLEASE call me.

-John

***************************************************

John,

your silences were worst then any words you could’ve spoken. What’s more, I lied – I think your cookies are terrible. I’m a horrible person, I know, but I could NEVER forgive you for what you did.

  -Lisa

****************************************************

Dear Lisa,

when I caught a glimpse of your face that day, with the wind blowing your hair over your eyes, I thought to myself, “My God, I’m an ass.” I’ve sinned, and now I seek your forgiveness. Remember last winter when we found your lost ring at the Salvation Army? I felt then that I didn’t deserve our togetherness.

Please don’t ignore me.

John.

****************************************************

John – we are weak people by nature. I know that, but I want something more. Please understand that. I’m not a saint, not enough to take you back.

-L

****************************************************

Lisa,

I’ll be at the coffee shop, “Modern Love”, on Tues at 5. I just want to see you and talk. Nothing more. I promise.

-J

****************************************************

Lisa – I wish I could be with you. I waited for you. I hope you are reading this. I don’t know what else to say…

  -John.

****************************************************

Dear Lisa,

Is this the end then?  I hate endings. I hate this. Maybe one day, years from now, while buying milk you’ll see me walking across the street, and you’ll wonder whether to say hello. Instead, you keep going – an awkward moment you want to avoid. The thought of that makes me so sad. I wish we could be in each others lives somehow, but this is how you want it.

-Goodbye,

John.

****************************************************

Dear Lisa,

I miss you…

-J

