Reality Bites, being in your 20s can be ugh

by Dieu

Being in your 20’s can really suck sometimes, and I didn’t realize it as much until I watched the film, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. The film is basically about a group of British retirees who take a trip to India and through their experiences, discover that they still have a hell of a lot of life to experience, and that retirement does not mean being put into a home to be forgotten about, but freedom.

I was having a discussion with my friend about the movie and we reflected on how much we would be glad to be past our twenties, because right now, we’re just so full of self-doubts, wondering if this boy will call (really, so many of them are still boys at this age, sorry), what direction our lives will take, will we marry and have kids, what will do with our lives, and all the angst that being in your twenties can bring. I’m reminded of another film, Reality Bites, starring Winona Ryder and Ethan Hawke, which was a film that represented for many the whole slacker, grunge, angst-ridden era of the 90s. Don’t get me wrong, I love that movie, but the people in the film were beautiful and yet so miserable.

20121002-075337.jpgLelaina Pierce: I’m not going to work at the Gap for Chrissake!

I admired the lead characters in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, because they stopped caring about all the bullshit that others give, and knew who they were and were that with room to grow. And some of them were okay with being alone, while others found love again and purpose after living part one of their lives. Part two was just beginning for them, and it looked okay or possibly even pretty damn good. They already knew what life was about, while being in your twenties, you’re still figuring out who you are. I know they say life is all about the journey, but there are many times I just wish this part could be over with.

20121002-075852.jpg“It’s all going to be all right in the end. So if it isn’t all right. It’s not the end.”
— Dez Patel (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)

