Another year older

by Dieu

Song by Muriel Rukeyser

The world is full of loss; bring, wind, my love,
my home is where we make our meeting-place,
and love whatever I shall touch and read
within that face.

Lift, wind, my exile from my eyes;
peace to look, life to listen and confess,
freedom to find to find to find
that nakedness.

Muriel Rukeyser’s beautiful poem expresses for me the feeling of peace and freedom that we all want in life. It is about the journey of life, which is about discovering “that nakedness” of truth of who we really are.

As of today my journey has taken me to the 29th year of life, and I have to say I feel okay about it. Yes, this year will be the last that I can say that I’m in my twenties, but there is something to be said about maturing and become more confident and sure of oneself.

As an added note, today one of my friends gave me a lovely pillow with a vintage map of Paris printed on it:

20130124-190927.jpg

